First week of University

 

 

The first week has been some what eye opening at the amount of work that I will need to produce. A fair bit of written work is needed for a design course… new to me haha. Any way, I’m nearly through the workload and am looking forward to a much more stress free week next week with two extra days to complete the tasks (Saturday and Sunday)

 
The toughest piece of the course was defining what graphic design is to me in under 50 words, here is my response,

 

Graphic design is the creation of artistic media. It is to plant ideas and beliefs into the audiences world to entice selling or funding. To me it is an essential part of marketing to be aimed at the intended communities. It is the creation of ideas through type and imagery.

 
Looking back I would probably change it to be a bit more personal. Hindsight is a wonderful thing. Cliches, I hate them!

 

Theres not been any creative side to my studies yet, though I am looking forward to this aspect of it greatly.


I will update soon..

 

Pugin… An architectural designer

.

4 thoughts on “First week of University

  1. Sounds like you’re off to a good start!! : )

    I imagine it would be very hard to define “graphic design” without lapsing into cliches and downright gobbledygook. I wouldn’t even know where to begin, actually… : (

    Yes, I’d say verbal and written communication are essential to design work; a lot harder to think up ideas without wordplay, and next to impossible to communicate ideas without a good command of language.

    Pugin– never heard of him, he sounds a most impressive chap.

    Good luck, stay the course!! : )

  2. Yes, defining Graphic design is like a maze of cliches, and the response of each designer is really down to experience of what area they specialize in and personal views etc etc… sure is a tricky one.

    I think it’s going to take me a while to get my head around the language side of things, though I can see how it really is important now, and like you say, a good command of language is essential.

    Pugin was quite impressive, he lived in the 19th Century, but favoured the architecture of the previous Gothic Medieval times, he saw it as a much more structured building era and drew many contrasts of the like. I found him very interesting to read, his work is some what inspirational.

    Thank you for taking time to comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

